David Robertson, music director | Augustin Hadelich, violin

The St. Louis Symphony—second oldest in the nation—is both venerable and forward-looking, with a broad musical range and diverse repertory. The Bing program includes Thomas Adès’ Dances from the opera Powder Her Face, Benjamin Britten’s Violin Concerto with Grammy-winning violinist Augustin Hadelich, and Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 1. Under David Robertson, now in his 12th and final year as maestro, the orchestra has toured extensively in the United States and across the globe.


  • Thomas Adès: Powder Her Face Suite (1995/2017) SLSO co-commission

  • Britten: Violin Concerto, op. 15 (1939)

    Augustin Hadelich, violin

  • Shostakovich: Symphony No. 1 in F minor, op. 10 (1925)

Download Program Notes (PDF)


Related Events